# Redistribution of Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries

Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995 – Sections 29J and 29K Notice

# **Transition Determination**

# **PART 1 – PRELIMINARY**

#### Commencement

 This determination takes effect on the date of its publication in the Gazette.

## Interpretation

2 In this determination, unless the contrary intention appears –

"allocated Member" of the Council means a Member of the Council who is allocated to a Council division under this determination;

"Council" means the Legislative Council of the Parliament of Tasmania;

"Council division" means an electoral division for the return of a Member to the Council determined on the last redistribution of the State into Council divisions on 6 February 1999 under the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995;

"Member" means a Member of the Council.

# PART 2 – REPRESENTATION OF NEW LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL DIVISIONS

### Allocation of Members to Legislative Council divisions

**3** (1) With effect from the date of this publication in the *Gazette* the following Members of the Council are allocated to Council divisions in accordance with the following table –

Council division	Allocated Member
Apsley	Hon TV Rattray-Wagner
Derwent	Hon MA Aird
Elwick	Hon TL Martin
Hobart	Hon DJ Parkinson
Huon	Hon AP Harriss
Launceston	Hon DG Wing
Mersey	Mrs NM Jamieson
Montgomery	Hon SL Smith
Murchison	Hon RJ Forrest
Nelson	Hon JS Wilkinson
Pembroke	Hon AM Ritchie
Rosevears	Hon K Finch
Rumney	Ms LE Thorp
Western Tiers	Hon GR Hall
Windermere	Mr IN Dean

(2) A Member of the Council allocated to a particular Council division under subclause (1) is taken to have been elected for, and is to represent, the relevant Council division.

### PART 3 – CYCLE OF PERIODICAL ELECTIONS

#### **Periodical elections**

**4** A periodical election is to be held for a Council division in the year of the first periodical election specified in the following table and thereafter in each sixth year after the last periodical election for that Council division –

Council division	Year of first periodical election
Derwent	2009
Mersey	2009
Windermere	2009
Apsley	2010
Elwick	2010
Launceston	2011
Murchison	2011
Rumney	2011
Hobart	2012
Western Tiers	2012
Montgomery	2013
Nelson	2013
Pembroke	2013
Huon	2014
Rosevears	2014

#### STATEMENT OF REASONS

The reasons for the above determination are as set out in the Redistribution Tribunal's initial transition proposal published on 24 May 2008.

Publication of this determination concludes the 2007-08 redistribution of Legislative Council electoral boundaries. The next redistribution will commence in accordance with Section 10(2) of the Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Act 1995.

#### **Richard Bingham**

Chairperson of the Redistribution Tribunal
14 June 2008



Redistribution Secretariat: 2nd floor, Telstra Centre, 70 Collins Street, Hobart Reply Paid 300, GPO Box 300, Hobart 7001 Freecall: 1800 801 701 Fax: (03) 6224 0217

Website: www.electoral.tas.gov.au

Email: lcredistribution@electoral.tas.gov.au